There’s no place like home

I have literally travelled to the other side of the world and back since my last blog post.

Australia is a long, long way from Spain. Seriously.

Let’s look at this in numbers:

30 – the number of hours to travel one way from Spain to Australia. Don’t forget to double it for the return trip!

25 – the number of hours I desperately wanted to be horizontal – who can sleep in a sitting position seriously?

4 – the number of countries you transit or visit – although you are so sleep deprived and smell like pyjamas that you hardly notice that you have have transited several continents.

12 – the number of days I was in Australia.

12 – the number of days that I loved being in Australia. As Dorothy reminds us, “there’s no place like home”.

2 – the number of weddings I attended in Australia.

1 – my graduation!

1636 – the number of kilometres I travelled by plane, bus and car whilst in Australia to attend said weddings and graduation.

1 – the number of young men from the Canary Islands that I sat next to for around 8 hours on return to Madrid. My Madrid friends have since assured me that it extremely difficult even for the Spanish locals to understand people from the Canary Islands… something about a South American drawl.

0 – the amount of words I could understand him saying to me – in Spanish or English…

80 – the percentage of my Spanish vocabulary lost in 2 weeks while surrounded by English speaking Aussies. It’s going to be a hard slog to get back up to speed.

But the trip was so very worth it.

So many Spanish tell me that Australia is “too far”. But my friends assure me that it is like giving birth. You forget the pain of the 30 hour travel ordeal and will readily do it again.

Especially to see places like this:

Iandra Castle

Iandra Castle

I have visited quite a few castles in Spain now – that I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to visit one whilst in Australia. Iandra Castle is about 40 minutes drive on Australian country roads, north of Young, NSW. It’s essentially an old homestead built by a prominent settler back in the early 1900’s. This is OLD for Australia but doesn’t quite reach the definition of OLD in Europe. I was extremely lucky to look inside as it opens to the public rarely – the next opening is in June.

Mustard Seed Farm

Mustard Seed Farm

After a mighty steak sandwhich at the Wombat Pub, (yes in a town called Wombat), with my newly made friends, an Aussie scientist and her Swedish husband, we visited the Yandilla Mustard Seed Farm. The little old lady who runs this property is gorgeous and loves to explain everything to you about Mustard Seeds in her posh British/Aussie accent.

And of course I can’t forget about the big city – Sydney! Arguably the most beautiful picturesque cities in Australia (Melbournites start complaining now).

Sydney

Sydney

The sunshine, the skies, the air, the food – WOW! Shameless plug for my home – if you haven’t visited Australia – do so now. What 30 hours on a plane? I don’t know what you’re talking about…

Tim Tams

Tim Tams

And of course I brought some of the old favourites back to Spain – Tim Tams, Milo, Sanitarium Peanut Butter….

I’m pretty sure hubs was happy to see me return with all of these goodies. And to see me of course….

 

Leave a Reply

